A few hadiths/sayings/quotes for one to ponder on. A little bit of everything. Enjoy.

I looked at all friends and did not find a better friend than safeguarding the tongue.
I thought about all the dresses but did not find a better dress than piety.
I thought about all sorts of wealth but did not find a better wealth than contentment in a little.
I thought of all sorts of good deeds but did not find a better deed than offering good advice.
I looked at all types of sustenance but did not find a better sustenance than patience.

~Umar (ra)

Truly, in the heart there is a void
that can not be removed except with the company of Allah.

And in it there is a sadness
that can not be removed, except
with the happiness of knowing Allah and being true to Him.

And in it there is an emptiness
that can not be filled except with
love for Him and by turning to Him
and always remembering Him.

And if a person were given all of
the world and what is in it,
it would not fill this emptiness.

~ Ibn al-Qayyim al-Jawziyya

The Prophet (saw) said:

Almighty Allah says, ‘I am as My servant thinks I am,
and I am with him when he remembers Me.
If he remembers Me to himself,
I remember him to Myself;
and if he remembers Me in a gathering,
I remember him in a gathering better than it.

If he draws near to Me a hand’s span,
I draw near to him an arm’s length;
if he draws near to Me an arm’s length,
I draw near to him a fathom’s length;
and if he comes to Me walking,
I go to him with haste.'”

(Al-Bukhari, Muslim, At-Tirmidhi and Ibn Majah)

Ibn Masood (ra) said: The believer regards his sin as if he were sitting beneath a mountain which he fears may fall on him, whereas the sinner regards his sin as if a fly lands on his nose and he swipes it away.

[Bukhari]

The company of a good friend is like an owner of musk; if you don’t buy anything, you will get the smell of it.
The company of a bad friend is like the blacksmith’s bellows; if you are not affected by its black dirt, you will be touched by its smoke

~Prophet Muhammed (saw)

Everyone who is being overtaken by death
asks for more time
while everyone who still has time
make excuses for procrastination

~Ali Ibn Abi Talib (RA.)

