As you all may know, wedding season is finally coming upon us. I know of a few weddings that are due to take place this spring. And as these marriages are due to take place, thinking what to purchase for the wedded couple becomes a mammoth task. Gifts that will be of some use, rather than using them to prop up the kitchen table or to act as a door stopper, is quite difficult.

But I digress from my point. Numerous articles, books detail the best way to treat one another, particularly concerning the “first night”. Most people I assume fall asleep the moment their head hits the pillow from sheer exhaustion of the days celebration.

Much has been mentioned regarding the Sunnah of the first night. Somethings mentioned is the offering of milk to the bride, approach one another with the greetings of salaam. But on thing that confuses me is the dua the man is recommended to recite:

‘Allahumma in’ni as’a’luka min khai’riha wakhai’ri ma fiha wakhairi ma jabalta’ha alai wa a’udhu bika min shar’riha washar’ri ma fiha wa sharri ma jabalta’ha alai’

‘O Allah I ask you for the good in her and the good with which you have created her, and I seek refuge in you from the evil in her and the evil with which you have created her’ (Bukhari, Abu Dawud, Ibn Maja, Al Hakim, Al Baihaqi and Abu Ya’la)

I have never understood this recitation. And it is for the man to recite – I’ve asked on a few occasions if there is anything the woman should recite (hope he doesn’t turn into an evil brute perhaps?) but there is nothing as far as I know.

So what is the above dua for? Is evil an inherent character trait in her only that the man has to recite the dua to be kept away from its affliction and influences? Is he not capable of evil acts and wrong doing? Is only she the source of evil? It reminds me too much of the Christian ideology that women being the temptress (resulting from blaming Eve for the swift exist from Paradise) although in a similar vein in a hadith the Prophet (saws) stated women to be fitnah.

Anyone have a different interpretation of the above dua? And the purpose behind it?

